Lionel Messi Lands Record 5th Ballon d’Or

2 years ago by in Lifestyle, Sports

Lionel Messi has won a record fifth Ballon d’Or, reclaiming his title from Cristiano Ronaldo, who had won it on the two previous seasons.

Lionel Messi has landed the Ballon d’Or for an unprecedented fifth time.

The Argentine forward won back the biggest individual player trophy in world football, beating Cristiano Ronaldo, the three time winner who has claimed the trophy over the past two years.

Messi, with a goal tally of 48 in 2015 also beat Barcelona teammates Neymar (41 goals) and Suarez (48 goals) who must be getting close to the Messi/Ronaldo monopoly.

A new adidas film has declared that Messi, the ultimate creator, is “not here for the past, for the praise… not here for the celebrations, for the records”. Messi is here to create.

Featuring some of Messi’s most iconic moments – the skills, the goals, and the nutmegs which still haunt players – the new campaign from adidas celebrates not Messi’s records, but the moments that he made football fans around the world get out of their seats.

10 years of Ballon d’Or Winners

2005 Ronaldinho
2006 Fabio Cannavaro
2007 Kaka
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo
2009 Lionel Messi
2010 Lionel Messi
2011 Lionel Messi
2012 Lionel Messi
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo
2015 Lionel Messi


Manuel Neuer, Thiago Silva, Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Dani Alves, Andres Iniesta, Luka Modric, Paul Pogba, Messi, Neymar, Ronaldo.

Page optimized by WP Minify WordPress Plugin