Mercedes-Benz Confirm New Naming Strategy

3 years ago by in Lifestyle, Rides

Mercedes-Benz has confirmed the biggest change in their model nomenclature since 1993. Back then the Stuttgart giants made the letters “C” and “E” prefixes on the badges of its small and midsize sedans, and now this latest naming strategy will introduce 11 all-new model names to be gradually phased in over the next seven years.

This is the breakdown:

  • There will be five traditional Mercedes letter names, which represent size and positioning: A, B, C, E, and S.
  • All SUVs will getthe “GL” prefix. Therefor the lineup will be: GLA, GLC (formerly GLK), GLE (formerly M/ML) and GLS (previously GL).
  • Four-door coupes retain their “CL” prefix, so the CLA and CLS remain unchanged.
  • Roadsters get the “SL” prefix. The old SLK therefore becomes the SLC.

Not everything changes though. Iconic models like the G-Class off-roader and SL-Class roadster keep their names. Mercedes-Benz’s name for their all-wheel-drive vehicles – “4Matic” – will also remain.


via Carmag

Page optimized by WP Minify WordPress Plugin